Spring Members’ Exhibition 2021
A digital international group exhibition of fine art
Scottish Arts Club
24 Rutland Square
Edinburgh, Midlothian EH1 2BW
United Kingdom​​​​​​​
May 11 – August 2, 2021
Virtual Launch
May 11
5:00 P.M. BST (UTC+1)
Exhibited Works: Sheep Cottage; A Civil Fire
Sheep Cottage, 2020
Sheep Cottage, 2020
A Civil Fire, 2021
A Civil Fire, 2021
Welcome from the President and Members of the Scottish Arts Club to the Spring Exhibition. The online gallery hosts our current virtual exhibition. The Scottish Arts Club’s membership comprises professional artists, painters, photographers, architects and sculptors, along with aspiring practitioners in all visual arts. Membership also embraces Award Winners from the annual exhibitions held by the Royal Scottish Academy, VAS, SSA, RSW, and the Scottish Portrait Awards, ensuring excellent representation of many of the best of Scotland’s current contemporary artists.
The Scottish Artists’ Club was founded in 1873 by a group of artists and sculptors, including Sir John Steell, Sculptor to Queen Victoria, and Sir George Harvey, President of the Royal Scottish Academy. For twenty years they met in a series of premises around the West End of Edinburgh, including George Street, Castle Street and Queen Street. In 1894, the building at 24 Rutland Square was purchased and Lay Members were welcomed. To reflect the widening of membership, the Club was renamed the Scottish Arts Club. Indeed, the Club includes many luminaries among its former and current Members.
Former Members include fine artists Sir Joseph Noel Paton, William McTaggart, Stanley Cursiter and Robin Philipson; sculptors C D’O Pilkington Jackson, Alexander Carrick, Andrew Dods, Hew Lorimer, Benno Schotz and Norman Forrest; photographers Edward Drummond Young, George Balmain and Paul Shillabeer; architects Robert Lorimer and Sir Basil Spence; writers George Gregory Smith, George Saintsbury, Sir Compton Mackenzie, George Scott Moncrieff, Eric Linklater, Nigel Tranter and Tom Fleming; and poets Edwin Muir, Norman MacCaig, Sydney Goodsir Smith and Hugh MacDairmid; among many others. Authors Alexander McCall Smith and Ian Rankin, architect Professor Andrew Merrylees and composer John McLeod are among eminent current Members.
Curated by
Malena Persson, Curator
Joyce Campbell, Art Convener